• Rhian's Brass Express, commissioned in 1994 by Reading University and performed there by Anne McAneney, trumpet, and the Reading University Orchestra, conductor, Graham Treacher, will be given a performance by BBCNOW, conductor Holly Mathieson, and Philippe Schartz, trumpet, on 25 January at the Hoddinott Hall, Cardiff.  
  • The tour of Rhian's new Violin Sonata continues with a performance by Mary Hofman and Richard Ormrod at the Wye Valley Music Club, St Briavel's Church, Monmouthshire, on Sunday, 20 January at  3.00 pm. 
  • Concert-pianist Clare Hammond's recital at the Cardiff University Concert Hall on Tuesday, 11th December, including Rhian's A Garland for Anne has unfortunately been postponed but has been re-scheduled for 15 October, 2019, same venue. 
  • Sunday, 25th: Rhian's Ave Maria (Tŷ Cerdd), written for the New College Oxford Choir and Edward Higginbottom, was performed by the Copenhagen Royal Chapel Choir, conductor, Ebbe Munk, in Aalborg, Denmark.
  • Saturday, 17th: The Ardwyn Singers, conductor David Leggett, pianist Janice Ball, premiered two sets of choral pieces they had commissioned from Rhian, Tair Alaw (Nesta Wyn Jones) and The Listening Eye (Anne Stevenson), at the RWCMD Dora Stoutzker Hall, Cardiff. The works are being published by Tŷ Cerdd.
  • Friday, 16th: Rhian held a seminar with the composition students at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama on her large-scale orchestral piece, Tirluniau (Landscapes), (Stainer & Bell, 2000).
  • Thursday, 15th: Rhian's Violin Sonata (Tŷ Cerdd), was played by Mary Hofman, violin, and Richard Ormrod, piano, at the Welshpool Music Society, Welshpool, mid-Wales.
  • Wednesday, 14th: Tirluniau (Landscapes) was played at St David's Hall, Cardiff by the RWCMD orchestra conducted by David Jones. (This work was commissioned by the BBC for the Millenium Proms in the Albert Hall and premiered there by BBCNOW with Tadaaki Otaka, conductor.) 
  • Also Wednesday, 14th: harpist Elinor Bennett gave the 3rd performance on her tour of La Roca Blanca (Curiad), this time at the Rhyl Music Club, North Wales. 
  • Tuesday, 13th: The Choir of King's College London, director Joseph Fort, sang Rhian's Love bade me welcome (Stainer & Bell) at Evensong in the College chapel. 
  • Monday, 12th: David Titterington, Head of the Organ Dept at the Royal Academy of Music, gave a repeat performance of Rhian's three new pieces, Ad Lucem (Tŷ Cerdd), as part of his concert to launch the newly-refurbished organ at King's College Chapel, The Strand, London. 
  • Sunday, 11th: Elinor Bennett played Rhian's La Roca Blanca at Acapela Studio, Pentyrch, Cardiff.
  • 8th November, Elinor Bennett played Rhian's La Roca Blanca at Studio Pontio, Bangor, at the first concert of her autumn tour.

On 17th October 2018, Mary Hofman and Richard Ormrod began a concert tour, 'Beethoven in Wales', whose programme includes Rhian's newly-commissioned Violin Sonata. The tour will last until March 2019 and will encompass music clubs throughout Wales and has received funding from the PRS Foundation. The premiere of Rhian's work was at the Rhyl Music Club on 17th October. 

Elin Manahan-Thomas, RS,
Jocelyn Freeman
On 2nd October, at the Swansea International Festival, soprano Elin Manahan Thomas sang Rhian's Yr Alarch (Stainer & Bell) for solo voice and, accompanied by pianist Jocelyn Freeman, The Gaze (Tŷ Cerdd), a setting of Ophelia's words from Shakespeare's Hamlet (words which describe the Prince's descent into madness and Ophelia's response). 

Anna Stéphany, Sholto, RS

On 27th September, the launch concert for a new CD, 'Nature's Songbook', by mezzo Anna Stéphany and pianist Sholto Kynoch was given as part of Bob Boas's concert series at 22 Mansfield Street, London. The CD includes Rhian's Wildflower Songbook (Tŷ Cerdd), three songs to texts by Anne Stevenson, commissioned by the Oxford Lieder Festival in 2015 (Tŷ Cerdd).

On September 18th, David Titterington,
David Titterington with RS
at the Duke's Hall, RAM
organ, gave a wonderful 
premiere of Rhian's Ad Lucem, commissioned by David for his inaugural recital as Professor of the University of London. The concert took place in the Duke's Hall at the RAM.  

Earlier in 2018, Ensemble Cymru undertook a concert tour of Wales with Emerging (lightly) on the programme; before the second concert of the tour, on 6th May, they presented a Composer Portrait of Rhian at the Aberystwyth Arts Centreperforming Fritillaries (clarinet & harp) and Pererin (flute & clarinet). What fabulous players! Thank you to clarinettist Peryn Clement-Evans, director of Ensemble Cymru, and Composers of Wales for arranging it.

Anne Denhom (harp), Alena Walentin 
(flute), RS, Oliver Wilson (viola) 
after the concert at Aberystwyth 
Arts Centre

Other pieces by Rhian toured in early 2018 included Yr Alarch, performed by baritone Matthew Hoch across the southern United States in Jan-March (and gave a lecture-recital on the piece at the 'Music by Women' Festival at the Mississippi University for Women) and Far across the Sea/Ymhell dros y Môr, played in April--May by harpist Helen Davies in concerts in Spain and Portugal.

Also in May, the choral work, Yr Alarch, was premiered at Cardiff University, the choir conducted by Robert Fokkens. It was performed again and recorded for a CD in June. 

In late April, the recording of Clytemnestra got under way, with one more session scheduled to complete it. Soprano Ruby Hughes, BBCNOW, Jac van Steen (conductor) and Robert Suff (BIS records) all participated and made the occasion a wonderful one for the composer. On the recording will also be Berg's Altenberglieder and Mahler's Rückert-Lieder, sung amazingly beautifully by Ruby. What an honour to have Clytemnestra in this company!